I AM TOO COOL FOR MY AFRICAN CULTURE OR MY AFRICAN CULTURE IS TOO COOL FOR ME?…

I apologize to my culture for it taking me this long to come around. I was just lost trying to belong or attach myself to a culture that I wasn’t cut from.
I am sorry your beauty was and is still by many, ignored, I am sorry I lost sight of you.

I believe many of us have practiced slavery, slavery of our culture, running away from our language like it’s a plague. We even call it “razz”, then we go around singing praises to ourselves every time we appear more western. We truly must be lost.
We term my culture informal,we make it a slave to a culture that we are slaves to…. I am gradually going extinct thinking I am becoming more “cool”.
I am slowly bleaching my culture, a culture that my entire life time can not build.
So I can’t help but wonder “how cool are we if we can’t recognize beauty and can’t be proud of who we are and where we were cut from? “.

The look on my face when my people are communicating in my language, I am disgusted by their illiteracy and “these people are just too razz” i think to myself , but the pride that fills my heart when i see Chinese people because where ever they go, they communicate in their language and carry their culture with …yet i just might be too cool for my African culture…………….
Its not like i know the A-Z of English neither do I have pure, undiluted American or British English accent (i mix the two up sometimes)… Lol, I don’t even think i have up to 10% accurate knowledge of  their culture… see how I am leaving home only to be homeless.
I should love the beautiful colours of other cultures but should I keep making  mine a slave to theirs?
Now when I see a westerner embracing the core of my language, my food and the entirety of my culture….I am thinking, maybe I am so lost!,  my culture has become too cool for me.

One thought on “I AM TOO COOL FOR MY AFRICAN CULTURE OR MY AFRICAN CULTURE IS TOO COOL FOR ME?…”

Leave a comment